Premature Fizzle-ation

I love Florida.  I never thought I would live anywhere but here… we moved here from NY when I was a toddler.  I lived here for 31 years before I ever experienced a hurricane.  And after the Hurricane Season of 2004, I was ready to move out of the state.

So I moved to Orlando… not quite out of the state, but away from the coast.  I feel like we’re less of a target for hurricanes.  Yes, I know that hurricanes went through here in 2004, but after it had crossed some land and the winds had died down a bit.  On the coastline of the state, we were much more vulnerable to the storms. 

Then this week we have the possibility of Ernesto.  Is it going to hit New Orleans?  No, it’s coming for Florida.  It’s going to go right up the middle of the state!  It’s coming right for us! 

We go over our emergency preparations… the schools are closed (the kids are THRILLED)… the shelters open… we brace ourselves for the inevitable thunderstorms and wind.  The worst is going to happen in the afternoon!  Winds in excess of 50mph!  Be prepared!  We buy water, snacks, paper plates, medicine, batteries, canned food…

And then… um, nothing.  Storm?  What storm?  I drove the work this morning in a rain storm.  A few hours later I walked outside and the sun was shining.  Where was this hurricane that was going to make the levees in New Orleans flood over once again?  Where was the storm that could cause trees to fall down?  Power failures? 

I wonder… is all the “Doppler 2000 Radar,” Jim Cantones, Weather Channel, forecasting, and CNN news briefs over-reacting?  Are they trying to make people be more prepared?  Or are they just alarmists? 

The news is filled with headlines like “Is America a Terrorism Target,” “Where Will Terror Strike Next?”  Are the hurricanes being caught up in all of that drama?

How could they not predict this storm better?  Is the technology really *that* inferior?  Personally, I don’t think you can predict Mother Nature.  So what’s with all that doppler shit?

Don’t get me wrong… I’m THANKFUL that we didn’t have a hurricane & I pray that I never have to go through one of those again.  Ever.  I will not forget what it felt like to be in a building that was swaying in the wind from the power of a storm.  But Ernesto was very anti-climatic…

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Premature Fizzle-ation

  1. Glad to hear you were spared. Hurricanes SUCK! I’ve been through a few in my time.

Leave a Reply

