The Spirit of Competition

A few years ago I realized just how competitive of a person I am.  I probably should’ve realized this sooner… I mean, there were a few clues:

  • Playing a midway game with my then four year old son and physically not being able to let him win.  The guy running the game covered my stream of water with something to try and get me to stop. I shot him with a seriously dirty look.  Hey… I gave the kid my spiderman prize…sheesh. 
  • Sometimes getting a little over zealous watching game shows and shouting out the answer faster than anyone I happen to be in the room with. (even when there’s no one in the room with me, I’ll shout out the answer… you never know when someone might just walk in, you know?)
  • While playing cards with friends, I started to accuse my husband of cheating because he actually started winning.  Well… he doesn’t win ‘Pounce’ very often and I was suspicious!
  • Playing that same card game became VERY competitive with Marti and her husband.  We would shuffle each others’ decks and count out the cards to make sure none of us were cheating.  (that’s what happens when you play with OTHER competitive people)

I wasn’t in any sort of team sports as a kid.  I was in marching band… not a lot of competition there.  (except when ‘chair’ tryouts came around.  Man, flute players can be vicious!) Although, I do remember proclaiming in public that I would be the “Future Drum Major” when I was just a freshman.  That was pretty ballsy… considering I was only a freshman AND I was a girl.  Most DMs were boys back then. 

I’ve noticed that a little competition can really motivate me.  Even though I’m afraid of losing, I always want to join in and *try* to win.  And it’s not always so much that I need to *win* – I just don’t want to be left out of all the fun.  I want to keep playing!  I want to be INCLUDED.  I like to feel like I’m a part of something.  I think that’s what really inspires me to keep competing. I hated being the kid that was picked last… or didn’t get the ‘inside joke’ or wasn’t part of the “cool” kids.  Well, I was never going to be a cool kid because I. was. in. the. band. I didn’t care, because I was a part of the band.  We were a “we” and I liked that.  (and let me tell ya – we SUCKED – there were NO competitions that we were going to win… that’s for sure)

I always thought that I was goal-oriented type person… but maybe that’s just competitiveness with a much more politically correct title. 

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Spirit of Competition

  1. Julie Martinez says:

    you and I are two of a kind…now what is going to happen when we get the finals of LSS and it’s you, me and Jen all against each other?

  2. chriselda says:

    bwhahahahaa
    i’m not sure if i’m competitive or not
    but i bet i could kick your butt in chinese checkers!
    bwahahaha!
    my mom used to go nuts with Yahtzee
    said she was sooo good at it. i was like “it’s all luck, mom”
    GET A GRIP you game NAZIS!!!

    love you girl… love you!

    (and p.s. …. my blog is better than yours!)

  3. Kimberly says:

    Not sure if this post is related to LSS….but just wanted to say CONGRATS on making it to Round 3. How could you not. I finally went and looked at many of the LOs posted for LSS. Much talent…..YOU are so good.

  4. island jen says:

    you crack me up girlie!! and i never would have guessed you were so competitive…hmmm…if i ever join the Amazing Race, I’ll know who to bring with me!!

Leave a Reply

