Bad Habits

I am a nail biter.  I hate HATE to say that, but I am.  I battled with this for YEARS.  I hate that I did it and would try to hide it.  I tried to stop many, many times.  I was embarrassed by the way my nails looked – all stubby and chewed on… ick.  FINALLY, I stopped.  I can’t remember how I did it, but I did.

Then about two years ago I started biting them again.  I remember it was around the holidays and I was super-stressed out.  I bit them for a very short time and then came to my senses and stopped.

The difference was that a little girl was watching me… the same little girl that would stand in the bathroom with me in the mornings and pretend that she was blow drying her hair too.  She started biting HER nails.  I FELT HORRIBLE.  What a bad MOM! How could I pass on this terrible and embarrassing habit to my sweet girl?!?

I tried EVERYTHING to get her to stop… yucky tasting nail polish, painting her nails pretty colors, begging, threatening, disciplining, doing a scrapbook page about it… NOTHING WORKED.  I felt awful.

Yesterday while we’re snuggling on the couch before bed she shows me her fingers.  THEY ARE NOT all CHEWED up!  THEY ARE GROWING LITTLE NAILS ON THEM!  How did this happen?  Oh – it must be because I’m raising an independent thinking girl who decided on her own that she wanted her fingers to be healthy and to quit this bad habit!  YES!  I AM a good Mom!  Ahhhh… sweet victory!  I cheered, hugged, beamed with PRIDE! I kissed her little fingers and waxed poetically about us getting manicures together!   

No, she says.. her kindergarten teacher told her to keep her fingers out of her mouth.  So she did.

— Do you hear that sound? Like air being let out of a balloon? —

My nails?  Yeah… they look chewed on right now. (s-t-r-e-s-s) Maybe I should give Ms. H a call. 

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bad Habits

  1. Angie says:

    LOL! I, too, am a nail biter and so is my youngest son. *Sigh*

  2. chriselda says:

    ok
    i’m here
    after a brief hiatus
    i’m back
    and… right when i opened this page, i was chewing my nails…

    and i think you’re a great mommy

  3. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    Who doesn’t chew their nails at some point. Glad to see you stopped and lil Mackie has too. You need ask Ms. H if she is OK with being on hundreds of peoples speed dials so that she can support us when we need it. You’re an awesome mommy. I remember something you told me just a couple of weeks ago.

    “Bad parents don’t care whether they are good or bad or anything. They don’t care. Period. You do. You care so much and could never ever ever be a bad parent!”

    Have I made myself clear?!?
    SNAP OUT OF IT, GIRLIE!

  4. Julie Martinez says:

    now that is a scrapbook page! I love it…we try so hard but our kids ignore us until someone else reinforces it. THEN it seems like a good idea!

Leave a Reply

