Slumber Party?

Yesterday one of my daughter’s friends came over in the morning to spend a couple of hours playing.  Then I decided to invite one of my son’s friends over too.  They were all playing so nicely that I extended the time the kids were at the house.  My daughter’s friend asked if Mack could spend the night at her house.  Mackie was so excited!

At 4:00pm the Mom comes and picks up the girls.  As they are walking out the door two thoughts go through my mind:

  1. WHERE’S MY EFFING CAMERA!?! Why aren’t I documenting this?  I should’ve taken a picture as she’s walking out the door holding hands with her friend.  What’s wrong with me?  I’m obviously a sucky scrapbooker!!
  2. Wait… she’s leaving?  Now?  Maybe she shouldn’t go!  Maybe she should just stay home!

But it was too late.  She was already out the door.  I wanted to yell out “Nooooooooo” in slow motion, like in the movies, as she was leaving and getting into the Mom’s minivan!  “She’s just a BABY! She’s too little!” And most of all, “I’LL miss her tonight! What am I going to do without her?”

Since the girls left, I invited Skylar’s friend over for the night. They were being SUCH good boys… they played, watched a movie, ate popcorn.  I was scrapbooking… organizing all of my alphabet stickers.  (Side Note: It was amazing to see some stuff I had forgotten I even had!) By the way, I am totally addicted to alphabet stickers. It’s a problem.  (and I’m totally fine with that)

But, I digress…

At 9:50pm the phone rang.  Mackenzie couldn’t sleep and wanted to come home.  She said that the sheets weren’t as comfortable as her sheets… it was too dark… and it didn’t smell right.  She said that she wasn’t ready to sleepover; she’ll try it again when she gets bigger.

That’s okay.  I wasn’t ready either.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slumber Party?

  1. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    You crack me up girl. I’m glad that you got “the call” that you were waiting for, COME GET ME, I WANT TO COME HOME MOM. I think that I’m going to do that too. Glad you got the alpha’s cleared up. I think all of us are addicted to something. I wish I was addicted to just one thing and not 44.

  2. Julie Martinez says:

    you’re having a rough time with those kids and sleep overs, huh? sounds like you’re such a good mom, they don’t want to be away from yoU!

  3. Kimberly says:

    What an awesome, wonderful story. You totally need to scrap it. You make me laugh. Love how you write. And your daughter sounds sooo sooo sweet!

Leave a Reply

