Never afraid to make a fool of myself

Today was our monthly employee luncheon.  We do this every month to recognize our employees, give out awards and have fun prizes.  This month’s luncheon was hosted by the Sales Department.  They did a Pirate theme which was very fun.  The movie was playing in the background, there were black and red pirate balloons, eye patches for everyone, tattoos and bandanas. 

While giving out the raffle prizes with the General Manager, I thought it was the PERFECT opportunity to tell all the employees my favorite pirate jokes! 

What?  You didn’t know any pirate jokes?  Well…let me share them with you! 

  • What’s a pirates’ favorite letter of the alphabet?? (Rrrrrrrrrrrrrr)
  • How much does it cost to get a pirate’s ear pierced?? (a buc-an-eer)
  • Why couldn’t the twelve year old pirate get into the movie??  (because it was rated rrrrrrrrrr)

You can see that those quality jokes couldn’t be anything BUT a tremendous success! Either the employees will have a new respect for me and my obvious talent… or they won’t take me as seriously anymore.  (did I mention that I had a pirate bandana on my head and a tattoo on my arm? <—- and no, there are NO pictures of me because *I* had the camera.  I’ll just have to find another reason to purchase Hambly’s pirate ship paper)

As the HR Director, it was a risk… but, life is MUCH too short to take yourself (or your title) too seriously.

(by the way – a pirate’s other favorite letter of the alphabet is ‘I.’ “ayeeeeeee”)

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Never afraid to make a fool of myself

  1. islandjen says:

    is it wrong that i laughed myself to tears when i read those pirate jokes!! i looooove cheesy jokes!!

    i’m sure you are now the official “cool” HR manager!!

  2. mIcHeLlE-o says:

    Like these. I think you were probably a hit at the pirate party.

  3. Kimberly says:

    You totally freaking crack me up. Totally. And it’s just wrong that there are no pics.

  4. Marti says:

    LMAO! Your pirate jokes are top-notch.

    What type of illegal drug does a pirate use? Sea weed.

Leave a Reply

