Matters of the Heart

I'm stressed today.  I started feeling it last night actually.  When I get stressed, my heart starts to feel all wonky.  I have palpitations and it skips a beat every so often.  I've been tested for everything (pap smear included) and it's FINE – it's just what it does and it's just stress.  My HR friend Julie tells me that I need therapy…

I leave for Washington DC on Saturday.  I'm attending the SHRM (Society for Human Resources Management) Annual Conference and Exposition.  So I have to get on an airplane and leave my family for five days.  Once I'm on the plane and landing in DC, things will be AWESOME.  I'm meeting some of my best friends there (who I met on the SHRM message board – I know… how weird is it to meet people on a message board?! <<wink>>) and we'll be learning about HR stuff and then having cocktails and laughing our butts off…and whoring for free stuff in the Expo Hall. (you know us HR folks… we're crazy!)  

But until I get there, I'm worrying about everything I need to get done at work, everything I need to get done at home, and packing and not forgetting anything… and it's just getting to me.  And I hate flying.  I've gotten better at it the last few years, but I'm starting to feel anxious about it.  I always feel like I'm leaving my children and may never see them again.  (see Sarah Bernhardt references a few posts below)

My Husband's birthday is today… and it might include me cooking him dinner tonight.  If that's what he chooses (I asked him if he wanted to go out or stay home), then I need to stop at the store and get the ingredients for dinner (chicken enchiladas – which I must admit- I'm damn good at making).  And I HAVE to get him a cake.  That man could eat birthday cake after every freakin' meal.  He, of course, has EXCELLENT metabolism.  Me? Not so much.  (but that's another story)

And between tonight and Friday I have to pack.  I have to figure out how I'm going to get all the free stuff (whoring) home. I don't feel like I have it "all" together right now.

While I'm gone, the hotel that I work at is going through a name/brand transition.  We're changing our name which is a big deal & I have a couple of things I need to get done before then.  I don't have as much to do as some others… but I do want to make sure that what I'm responsible for is completed.  That's today's plan.  There's more work stuff stressing me out… but that's for another day…and we'll see what happens over the next few months.  Another issue going on at work has me seriously considering becoming a vegetarian. Seriously.

So I'm stressed.  I know there are worse things in life to be stressed over… but for right now, this is what I'm in the middle of.  I am going to take some time off when I get back.  I need a break and I'll want to spend some time with the kids.  My brain is just too full right now… and being surrounded by 15,000 other HR people for five days is going to seriously put me into information overload.

For now I'm trying to breathe deeply and convince myself that everything will be okay. 

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Matters of the Heart

  1. Kim Faucher says:

    Hey Jen, you have alot on your plate…. take one thing at a time and breathing is always good! lol
    One moment at a time, one day ata time and just try to enjoy… look at your time away as a reward…
    Everything will get done and next week you won’t be stressed… telling myself that too! he he
    Have fun and be safe and just relax!
    Kim

  2. Marti says:

    Hang in there, Jen Jen! You’ll get it all done. Hopefully you had a nice dinner – will you send me that recipe!? 🙂 Have a safe trip to DC & get lots of good free s**t.

Leave a Reply

