“Just wait until *you* have kids.”

I remember hearing that said to me a time or two growing up.  Who understood what that meant?  How could a kid realize the magnitude of that statement? 

I get it now.  I understand. Okay, karma police!  Can you hear me? I get it.

Meet my little Sarah Bernhardt:Mack Tantrum

Am I the only Mom who takes photos of their kids mid-tantrum?  (I'm guessing none of my fellow-scrappers think this is odd) 

When I was a kid and was having a particularly dramatic moment, my grandmother would call me Sarah. "Okay, calm down Sarah." If someone was around who could hear me, she'd say, "She's just a little Sarah Bernhardt." This would just make me even more upset and I'd end up shouting and crying, "MY NAME IS NOT SARAH!" 

I didn't know that Sarah Bernhardt was a dramatic actress… all I knew is that my grandmother's tone did not make it sound like it was a good thing.

Today, my little girl was acting very dramatic and was extremely upset because she wasn't allowed to go on a playground.  (she and her brother had been arguing) Before it had gotten too bad and I was actually considering changing my mind, I found her standing in the middle of a puddle.  When I asked her to get out of the puddle, she actually turned her back to me, put her hands on her hips and made a "hmmpf" kind of sound.  (if only I had the camera then)

When I told her that there was no way she was going to the playground, she was inconsolable… for the next two hours or so..it seemed longer…believe me.

I sat with her in a quiet place and held her, hugged her and told her that even though she was mad at me I still loved her.  I also explained why she wasn't going on the playground.  You'd think she'd have wanted to be away from me… mean Mommy who wouldn't let her on the playground. Nope. She was stuck to me like glue.  (when she wasn't running around with her cousins)

Her brother, Lawrence Olivier, was limping all day and could barely walk up the stairs tonight because of his hurt foot. 

… and I've run out of Oscar awards.

About jensmack

Non-Profit HR Director, Scrapbooker, Reader, TV Lover, and Crafter. Also, Neurotic, Sarcastic, Anxiety-filled Mom of Three.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Just wait until *you* have kids.”

  1. chriselda says:

    what is it with the outdoors and kids?
    damn the sun
    i hate being outside and my son will stand at the window and cry until we go out
    and if i go check the mail, forget it. he’ll throw a fit the second i close the door

  2. Marti says:

    How many times do we have to talk about that damn Karma loop? Ack – it’ll get us every time. Love the picture. And no, of course you’re not the only one who grabs the camera mid-tantrum. I’ll have to find the picture of Cameron crying when he was stuck under a chair. I helped him, but not before capturing the moment.

  3. Hoolie says:

    That’s EXACTLY why I knew, from age 7, that I would never have children!

    I was standing up in the back seat of a ’67 convertible Mustang, leaning forward to make sure both mom and dad could hear: “I won’t have kids. All I want is a convertible orange VW (Bug) and a trailer.” (the later indicated independence, not destitution!)

Leave a Reply

